Posted on

As the winds of summer approach..

I am feeling the aura of the past four summers. It is strange because I feel this coming summer will be a sort of culmination of the previous four. Before I get into that, lets go back in time and see what I did each year..

2007: I graduated high school here and at this time, I had just gotten my car too. This would be the busiest summer to date because I started to work at the Taco Bell at Arundel Mills Mall. I worked 5 days a week and was beat by consistently long shifts and standing for hours and hours… 12 hrs was the norm on Saturdays. Probably the worst summer ever because I gained so much weight eating the free fast good around me and lack of travelling sucked too.

2008: The end of freshman year marked the beginning of the longest summer of my LIFE. I worked 6 weeks in Baltimore and then I started renting out Budget Trucks for the rest of the summer and school year in Northeast Washington DC. Crazy times, crazy money, and free food of course. I was operating next to a carry out… so while I was exercising, I ate a lot of horrible food for a 2nd straight summer. It sucked that I didn’t hang out with a lot of friends and found myself working 7 days a week for a stretch in July and August. Draining experience and I wouldn’t have much down time until the end of Fall semester.

2009: Summer started off with quitting the Truck Rental… after a month, I became a Security Officer… and I been doing it ever since on a part time basis (weekends at the Ice Cream factory). The month in which I looked for a job was chill and my days just involved being online, playing a lot of basketball, and just hanging out. I started at the end of June guarding the 2000 Tower Oaks Blvd building in Rockville. It was a year old back then, and there were only two tenants. Who were they? The first were the people who built the building, the Tower companies (they build a lot of towers and apartments in the arean focusing on energy efficiency). The 2nd tenants were the Lerner family, they are the people who own the Washington Nationals… yeah, rich and powerful stuff. In July, I found myself at the Ice Cream plant and meeting my site supervisor (captain) was an intimidating experience. I came over to the site dressed in a tie and the uniform for the factory was a military “hard” look. I have been working there weekends and in spot duty ever since.

2010: Maybe the best summer in a long time. It certainly topped the previous 3 because it was finally a chance to travel for the first time in a long time. Before I left, my family went to Ohio over Memorial Day weekend. However, when we arrived, we received news that my grandfather, May Allah bless his soul, passed away from cancer. It was a sad time and everything started to happen quickly and my dad had to go to Sweden the next day, as well as many other family members. It was the last time I saw my father for almost three months!

I remember we came home on Memorial Day and I found myself scrambling to pack for the big trip to Egypt with flagship at the end of the week. Wednesday, I was dropped off by my uncle at the Embassy Suites in DC and I gotta give the flagship folks credit, ya boy was eatin’ good for breakfast, lunch, and dinner before we departed on Friday. My group was from five Universities (Maryland, Texas, Michigan, Michigan State, and Oklahoma) and I didn’t think the group as a whole would be that cool, but I was pretty wrong!

I remember arriving to Alexandria and being pretty intimated by not being able to communicate with the Egyptians but after a couple weeks… things started to become clearer and clearer. It also helped that I took introductory Egyptian Arabic to help with the transition. I could write up a lot about last summer… a lot of stuff went on. We had class every day from Sun-Thur from 9-1 most days and afternoon classes a couple days. Trips to pyramids and Sinai were cool… also went to a desert oasis my last weekend. This was the first time I was away from home for that huge period of time and coping with it wasn’t too hard… I really missed my mom’s food though… no one in Egypt can cook like her.

Anyway, after I came home in August, I found myself having nothing to do except go and get my job back. I managed to not spend all of my cash in Egypt but it was great coming home and my first meal was malawax, baasto, suuqar… oh man, it was mumtaztic!

And with this summer, I have already attended orientation for The Washington Center program. I’m supposed to be interning tomorrow, but I don’t have an internship yet. I don’t know what the process is, but I’d like to be at some NGO, Non-Profit, or something. We’ll see in a week. I also have orientation for the Center for Global Understanding, this was the organization that gave me a scholarship to intern in Washington, DC.

So, in a way, I see this summer combining elements of the past few. I’ll be working my butt off, I’ll be doing academically oriented assignments for the Washington Center, I’ll be doing something 7 days a week (weekends at the factory, of course), and I’m in a program with people from across the country. I hope my last summer as an undergrad will be extremely valuable. I’m just glad, Alhamdullilah, I live in the DC Area. Oh snap! I almost forgot, I take the GRE again in July as well!

Until next time.

About FAH1223

"years of blessing The essence of adolescent leaves my body now I'm fresh in.." Okay to quit biting off my man Nas... I am a guy, a student at the University of Maryland College Park. Hmm? What else? I'm a Somali born and bred in America and this blog will stream my thoughts of current happenings around the world and in my own backyard. What is 'FAH'? It started in 2003, I was a Yu-Gi-Oh! fanatic and had found a website called YuGiOhRealms where I discussed the card game with other card enthused folk. It was my 14 year old self butchering what my initials were (it is really FDH, sounds Roosevelty). It has continued to be the moniker on other websites that I frequent, so to my online stalkers...you've found me. But hey, it all worked out in the end.

Leave a comment