Posted on

EGYPT REVOLUTION

As we enter February, the past week has seen mass protests and demonstrations throughout Egypt. The 25th of January is a day not to be forgotten as it has moved a nation now at a point of no return.  But why is this happening now?

One reason: complacency

The Mubarak regime took the Egyptians for granted. To go back into the past, The scale of the 1977 protests was bigger than this one..people literaly went mad and charged tanks on the street. The main driver for those protests -the economy, especially the price of bread..sounds pretty similar.

Sadat survived becuase he had the respect of the people…Mubarak had zero respect to start with. Mubarak forgot the main lessons of dictatorship 101..which are to keep the people fed and entertained(distracted) and they will not revolt.

I’ve discussed this before with friends about the lack of civil activism in the Arab world. But this is characterized by the people at the heart of the Arab world, the Egyptians, being generally docile politically, and apathetic towards dictatorship. It is a characteristic seen throughout the region…

Today, there was a million man march in Maydan Tahrir in Cairo. Biggest protests in this latest saga of revolution and it was definitely a moving image. Mubarak later came on TV to give another speech to say he is not leaving until the elections in September and will not run another term. Unfortunately for him, he still does not realize that his people want him gone ASAP… and this ending… has the makings of a bad one. But I hope my gut is wrong.

 

About FAH1223

"years of blessing The essence of adolescent leaves my body now I'm fresh in.." Okay to quit biting off my man Nas... I am a guy, a student at the University of Maryland College Park. Hmm? What else? I'm a Somali born and bred in America and this blog will stream my thoughts of current happenings around the world and in my own backyard. What is 'FAH'? It started in 2003, I was a Yu-Gi-Oh! fanatic and had found a website called YuGiOhRealms where I discussed the card game with other card enthused folk. It was my 14 year old self butchering what my initials were (it is really FDH, sounds Roosevelty). It has continued to be the moniker on other websites that I frequent, so to my online stalkers...you've found me. But hey, it all worked out in the end.

One response to “EGYPT REVOLUTION

  1. jamal

    see poster of Mubarak: “30 years of Mubarak” in:

    30 years of Mubarak

Leave a comment